Random Quotes and Sutras

Random Daily Quote

It is divinity that shapes, not only your ends, but also your acts, your words and thoughts.

Raja Yoga Sutra by Patanjali, with commentary by Sri Swami Sivananda - Random Selection

Raja Yoga Sutra Selection # 7

From Discourse I: "Samadhi Pada- On Contemplations"


'At that time (when the thought waves are stilled), the perceiver rests in his own true nature.'

That state of pure consciousness is achieved when the mind is no longer modified by the activities of thought waves. When the waves of a lake are stilled, one can see the bottom clearly. Likewise, when the 'vrittis' of the mind subside, one's essential nature (swaroopa) becomes evident. When the mind's agitation stops, the world no longer exists for the meditator, for he is in union with the Self.

Bhagavad Gita Quote with commentary by Sri Swami Sivananda - Random Selection

quick links to our locations
follow us on social media:

Sivananda United

sign up for our newsletter

>> more newsletters

Sivananda sites
in your language

French Spanish German Italian Japanese
Scribd YOGALife is now on Scribd
share this page: